*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Mk2 Parcel Van Engine Advice

Transit Mk1 & 2 Forum. All Transits 1965 - 1986

Moderator: Luke

Mk2 Parcel Van Engine Advice

Postby Irisblue » Mon Apr 25, 2016 4:09 pm

Hi everyone,

Complete newbie here looking for some advice from you more experienced Mk2 owners please.

I recently fell in love with a mk2 Parcel Van with Dormobile Welfare Bus conversion which has been turned into a camper and started an expensive long term relationship with it. The previous owner had replaced the York engine with a mk3 2.5di at some point.

I'd only had it out on the motorway until about a month ago and didn't have any problems other than dodgy electrics (speedo stops working when headlights are on! Amongst other eccentricities) then took it for a weekend in the Lakes. It seemed OK, slow up hills but not unbearable on the way there. But on the way back its like the engine just gave up the ghost after being tired out all weekend and wasn't even making 15 mph up minor hills. The garage had a look at it and said there was evidence of the radiator throwing out rusty water and they thought the previous owner had baked it or the hills in the Lake District just pushed it over the edge. I took it out again and it seemed slightly better for 50 miles or so (still slow up hills, just not enough welly) but again on the way home it's like someone had turned the power down to minimum and whilst on on the flat, I feared it wouldn't make it up the slightest of hills. Talk about tense!

I've had a chat to my mechanic and he thinks the only option is a replacement engine, preferably a banana manifold with low-ish mileage. I asked about replacing it with a turbo to give it more oomph but he said it was a lot of work and he wasn't interested in doing it.