*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

2.4 durotorque tddi engine swap

Transit Mk6 & Mk7 Forum. All Transits 2000 - 2013

Postby highlandeye » Sun May 06, 2012 10:38 am

Hi , I am new to this fourum so please excuse any mistakes I make in posting this question . I have a luton bodied transit on an o4 plate ,125 psi di ,a week or so ago whilst away with the van travling at 55mph the engine , without any warning decided to explode , there was a instant loss of power acompanied by a sound like the Salvation Army Band , before comming to a very solid stop , the engine sized !. I first thought it was probably a fault on the timing chain side of things , possibily the chain had jumped , however I have removed the rocker cover and it was obvious the fault was serious. the rockers (both of them ) on no. 4 cilinder were moving up and down half an insh or more , so just for fun I took off the rocker shafts to find that the small rolers in the rockers themselfes had broken up and had gone into hiding somewhere in there. Closer examination showed nothing obvious ,( all the valves apeard to be ok from the top ) so I took off the head . The missing rocker berings had found there way under the rockers on no. 1 cylinder ( between the rocker itself and the vale top ) pushing both exhaust valves down through the pison ,and the bits now floting arround in there had also jamed up under the two inlet valves and compleatly wrecked the head , one of the valve heads had found its way down on to the front of the crankshaft gear wheel and loged firmly between the chain and the shaft braking off one of the drive teeth and snapping the chain . Anyway , the engine is scrap (106 klms.) which brings me to my question - finaly I here you say . So my question is this , I have bought a 125 psi di durotouque engine with a known history ,from a 03 reg veichle - mine is o4 reg. it looks identical in every way . I bought it complete with the 5 speed