*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Newbie requiring some help / informtion

Transit Mk6 & Mk7 Forum. All Transits 2000 - 2013

Newbie requiring some help / informtion

Postby Yog1 » Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:18 pm

Hello all,

I'm a newbie who owns (but not for long) a Ford Transit 350 LWB TD van which has been converted in to a campervan. Both my wife and I have had such good fun taking the van to festivals etc. We even spent a couple of weeks on honeymoon in it, which was a delight. Unfortunately we now have to sell it because we need the money to pay off debts. The problem is that we can't sell it as it is because it needs replacement fuel injectors. I was quoted £480 + VAT to have these renewed. As this is money I just don't have I sought another approach. A friend then told me of a Transit spares outlet in Birmingham where they break down old Transits :( Anyway, I went there this morning and bought 4no replacements for only £40. I then rang the mobile mechanic that I had contacted after the £480 quote (he will fit for only £70 labour) and he indicated that I would also need new copper seals for the injectors. I then rang my local Ford dealership in Kings Norton in Birmingham and they said that they don't do the seals on their own but that they come with each new injector.

To cut a long story a bit shorter I am on here to ask if anybody knows where I can get 4no copper seals for a 2003 registered Transit TD? I think this makes it a mark 4, but stand to be corrected if this isn't the case. I have looked on ebay etc and can only see copper seals for things like a mark 7 etc and not a mark 4. Can anybody tll me whether any of the seals for different marks of transit vans are interchangeable?