*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

EGR removal and fault codes?

Transit Mk6 & Mk7 Forum. All Transits 2000 - 2013

EGR removal and fault codes?

Postby Joelmk6transit » Fri Jul 14, 2017 12:41 pm

MK6 05 FWD 2.0 85ps
Have to possibly replace(hopefully just deep clean) my egr. I was told i could simply disconnect it and put a new one in without getting any error codes on my particular model of transit, thought i better check. My egr is located on the front left, i thought they were all located on the rear right of the engine. Any thoughts? I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to engines, is there anything i should look out for or be extra carfull with with removing it?

Heres a link with two pictures
Egr https://imgur.com/gallery/o4j3H

Cheers
Joelmk6transit

Re: EGR removal and fault codes?

Postby APH » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:50 am

You can just swap it out without any issues the plug is just a variable resistor that shows the ecu if the valve is open, closed. or anywhere in between. However, are you getting fault codes at the moment? if so then you will probably need to replace unless you can get it really well cleaned up and moving freely (oven cleaner is good). If your not getting a specific egr fault, just put a blank plate in between the flange and the valve body on the right hand side (metal pipe inlet) and then leave it as is. (don't unplug anything, and leave the vacuum pipe attached as the ecu will still need to open and close the valve and "see it" opening and closing)

Be careful undoing the two exhaust connection studs as they can be really tight or snap if not lucky. the two on the plastic intake on the top shouldn't be over tight, and the rubber hose should just be on a hose clip/ jubilee clip.