*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Major oil leak from fuel injector base?

Transit Mk6 & Mk7 Forum. All Transits 2000 - 2013

Major oil leak from fuel injector base?

Postby remark1 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:53 pm

Major oil leak from base of fuel injector!

Hi all.

I'm new to this, as far as 'posting' goes, but have searched for my issue & can't find anyone with the same problem?

I own a 2006 reg. 2.2 FWD Mk7, which has just developed a major oil leak from the base of one of the fuel injectors. The van starts & runs perfectly, but there is oil pooled around the base of most of the injectors & No. 3 is 'bubbling' through the oil puddle when the engine is running. After some initial searching online, thought that it appeared to be the failure of the relevant injector seal? However, there is no 'chuffing' as is apparently the case with a blown injector seal & after speaking to a mechanic, he said he's never heard of oil leaking from here & that this may indicate a far more major fault than just the injector seals?!

Any help or advice would be very gratefully received!

Steve
remark1
Transit Addict
Transit Addict

Re: Major oil leak from fuel injector base?

Postby Altransit » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:57 pm

My money is still on injector seals, and it's not a major job to remove, clean and replace them, even if it turns out to be something else :)

They don't always "chuff" just a bit of a rattle at high revs was all that mine did :wink:
1994 Mk4 SWB 115 Minibus 70ps Di (R.I.P.)
1997 Mk5 SWB 115 Minibus 70ps Di (Gone, but not forgotten!)
2004 Mk6 SWB T280 Medium Roof 85PS 2.0 TDDi - Vantunered (Also gone)
2008 Mk7 SWB T280 Medium Roof 85PS 2.2 TDCi - Also Vantunered
Altransit
Site Moderator

Postby remark1 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:03 pm