*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Mk8 Driver Swivel Seat Base?

The all new 2013 Transit Mk8 Forum. Transits 2013+

Mk8 Driver Swivel Seat Base?

Postby LukeMorgan » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:54 am

Hi newbie here!

Just bought myself a 2016 L4 H3 Transit to convert into a
Camper.

I'm going through the list of items to buy and ticking them off.

One item I'm struggling to find for it is a driver side swivel seat base. Does anyone know where I can pick this up after market? Or can I get this with ford parts?

Thanks
LukeMorgan

Re: Mk8 Driver Swivel Seat Base?

Postby devonvanfan » Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:30 pm

I fitted one of these to the passenger side on my Mk8 but note, as mentioned in the description, that unless you raise the seat with spacers the plastic trim has to be cut.

https://www.kiravans.co.uk/transit-cust ... wivel-rib/
devonvanfan
Transit Addict
Transit Addict

Postby dumper » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:25 pm

Hi I am just fitting the swivels out of my mk6 to my mk8 to make them fit I have had to re drill some of the bolt holes to fit on the drivers side I have lowered the hand brake lever fir the bottom hole I have cut off part of the bracket and re drilled the hole for the top rear mounting I have cutoff the captive nut and used a nut and bolt to secure it as for the top front mounting it comes in the middle of the big hole which the gromit for the handbrake warning light wire I have moved this to another hole in the seatbox and used a thick steel washer to bolt this up I had to remove the batteries and move the wireing to re drill the seatbox .the swivel is fitted to the seatbox and clears the handbrake when in the off position I will have to cut the seat plastic to clear and the handbrake cover also not sure if the handbrake cover will clear the seat but if it will not I will run without it .
MK 8 L4 H3 Motorsport campervan
Past camper vans
1974 mk1 v4 with 2.0 pinto fitted
1986 mk3 2.5 di swb