Transitmania 11 @Santa Pod 17th to 19th May 2019


Mk7 BE RCM Please

Need a certain part? Ask on here!

Moderator: Luke

Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 2:11 pm

Need a RESTRAINT CONTROL MODULE for my Mk7
My Part no. is

6C1T 14B056 BE

Big letters BE

Ive come across a few with 'A' letters which do not fit.

Can anyone help... be very grateful

Cheers, many thanks Colin
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby loot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:17 pm

What's wrong with yours?
Is yours single bag or twin?
65 290 2.2 125ps custom with 2 side doors 8)
07 350 170ps
Image
Ids v86 licence + v86.04 update + xprog here
Ids map here
User avatar
loot
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27706
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:32 pm

I have the Airbag light rapidly flashing on the dash, no apparent cause.
Ive read the codes with IDS and it shows B2477 which will not clear. I've disconnected battery and unplugged the module for a couple of hours, but the code remains.
searching the forum reveals the RCM needs replacing; I picked one up from KITS at Margate but then learnt that the Plugs and connections are very different.
mines 2.2 FWD 6 speed Driver and Pass airbags On ETIS it shows "With Side Curtain Airbag" does that mean 'double'

cheers
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:40 pm

Image
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby loot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 5:17 pm

I think that refers to side airbags ie. Seat or by the roof hence curtain, although I'm not sure exactly which location they are on these.

If you have driver and passenger airbags fitted then i could give you one of my rcm, only ask for postage.

But really you should try and find the fault tbh.

Go into self test and go into rcm module and see if it comes up with any more info.
You could also try going into continuous dtc menu and see, can't reneger if it is in crossroads-powertrain/or electrical.
I'll see what part number my modules are.
65 290 2.2 125ps custom with 2 side doors 8)
07 350 170ps
Image
Ids v86 licence + v86.04 update + xprog here
Ids map here
User avatar
loot
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27706
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:10 pm

Cheers for that Loot, but I should say that Ive had the VCM for about 3 months now but never had the calibration files,
however I've been able to read and clear codes and do a pump learn but have no Menus when I try and enter Module programming.I'm guessing this is down to not having loaded any Calib. files.

When I went into Kent transit spares, I did ask if they were all the same, and was told yeah FWD or RWD , but when I pulled mine one of the plugs had slightly different profile and alignment ribs,
looking inside and there was huge difference in number of pins and arrangement, looking at the AD version I bought, The left hand socket has a Pin Matrix 4 x 3 iirc my original BE has a full 4 x 4

If you've not got the BE, I'd be reluctant to put you to the trouble of posting out. I'll go take it out and put a photo up of the two
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:54 pm

Image

comparing the left hand sockets, my BE rcm doesn't have the locating rib on right hand edge (the left hand locator is double instead of single)

Image

with my BE stacked on top, the left had socket contains a full 5 X 4 matrix of pins , the AD just 3 X 4

Kent transit spares are taking the "AD" back from me (was 25 notes) and will look for a BE for me
...... but I'd like sooner than later !

thanks loot
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby loot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:04 pm

I would say that they vary similar to the bcm where the first letter denotes the level of functionality and i guess the second letter denotes the level of software.
You will want a b- rcm or later i would say, I'll have a look at mine tomorrow I'm sure they are b and I'm sure all pins are occupied :-)
65 290 2.2 125ps custom with 2 side doors 8)
07 350 170ps
Image
Ids v86 licence + v86.04 update + xprog here
Ids map here
User avatar
loot
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27706
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby loot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:11 pm

Also download my last link in the signature (drop box)
In there you'll find xprog, extract it then ruin it and you'll have module programming. :-)
You should install calibrations too.
65 290 2.2 125ps custom with 2 side doors 8)
07 350 170ps
Image
Ids v86 licence + v86.04 update + xprog here
Ids map here
User avatar
loot
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27706
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:29 pm

Luke .... you are a star !
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby loot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:43 pm

Who's Luke? :lol:
65 290 2.2 125ps custom with 2 side doors 8)
07 350 170ps
Image
Ids v86 licence + v86.04 update + xprog here
Ids map here
User avatar
loot
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27706
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: North Wales

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:38 pm

lol .... no explanation
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Airthies » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:44 pm

B2477 = Module Configuration Failure

And yup if you've got that code then it seams like it's gonna be a lovely paper weight...

If you can't get an RCM of the right setup if you disconnect all but the steering wheel bag I think the AE unit would work, if the plugs actually fit?
Looking at it I guess the one you got will fit your plugs? It looks like it'd be backward compatible (hi to low spec) rather than going from (low to high spec)

If it fits, with only the drivers bag connected IDS (if I understand it correctly) will show codes denoting which circuits are open/faulty. Then reconnect the units that the RCM is looking for.

I think most of the passenger side bags circuits go via the large multi-plug up next to the BCM going to the LH pillar over the top of the wheel arch.

Hope this hasn't confused things...?
P's. DON'T GO NEAR THE RCM WHEN USING IDS IF THERE'S NOT A PROBLEM . ....
Been there done that
Back now, well for a bit anyway.....
2008 350LWB 115PS ex welfare van
2008 350LWB 115PS ex fitters van + other things....
V86+patch
V86.04
X-Prog
C81
User avatar
Airthies
Transit Fanatic
Transit Fanatic
 
Posts: 3454
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Stirling, Scotland, & rest of the world

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby Appy » Mon Apr 13, 2015 9:58 pm

Cheers Airthies,
of the Two BE plugs have on the van (From my photos ) the right hand will fit and connect, but the left hand will not

Im inclined to go with loot on the version bit.........

'A' to a certain date with variations
then the B's

If I get a RCM installed 2nd user .... other than a crash previous ... will it install itself ?
Appy
Transit Addict
Transit Addict
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Mk7 BE RCM Please

Postby loot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:08 pm

You need to install it with ids, module initialisation iirc.
You can clear crash data, airthies did a how to too :-)
The problem i has was i went into rcm config and clicked on it for a laugh, it upgraded my rcm to twin airbags and i couldn't downgrade it :oops:
A few of us have done it lol very easy to do.

Since you have twin airbags then i would say that 1 of my modules will fit, although it may be possible that it could be A- single low spec B- double C- double and side (just guessing at the moment tho.
If this is the case then you'll get away with doing the above and fitting a double and bypassing the side system, although that seems a bit pointless if you can get hold of the correct module.

I have looked at the rcm diagram and it seems straight forward, single and double airbags are top side of rcm module and curtain airbags are bottom side of module.
If the middle physically has all the pins populated then you stand a good chance of sorting the problem out.

However, can you specifically tell us what happened to your rcm? Did you reprogram it by accident?
Comms fault isn't consistent with air bag/system v component failure so something has gone wrong somewhere. :wink:
65 290 2.2 125ps custom with 2 side doors 8)
07 350 170ps
Image
Ids v86 licence + v86.04 update + xprog here
Ids map here
User avatar
loot
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27706
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 6:06 pm
Location: North Wales

Next

Return to Transit Parts Wanted



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users