*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Sound Diagnosis

Use this forum to post technical questions & problems about any Transit

Moderator: Luke

Sound Diagnosis

Postby DG-Unit » Fri Aug 21, 2020 10:09 pm

I wonder if anyone could help me diagnose this noise from the engine bay after the ignition is switched off and the engine is shutting down? I'm sure other's have had it before. The engine has done somewhere between 130-160k miles.

https://youtu.be/VYwYeYI-ZEI

I'm completely new to the world of vans and Transits having bought it today. Have a feeling I'll be on here quite a lot over the next few months :D Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
2004 Transit SWB 85 T260
DG-Unit
Transit Devotee
Transit Devotee

Re: Sound Diagnosis

Postby Frag » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:16 am

Suggest you get someone to replicate the fault,while looking underneath/under bonnet.
Sounds like you have a lot of movement,poss lower engine mount and it’s the engine shaking about that’s causing that ?
Front wheel drive mk6 ?
Frag
Ford Technician

Postby DG-Unit » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:35 am

Yeah a FWD engine and engine mount is my best guess. I’ll try get some better sounds of it.
2004 Transit SWB 85 T260
DG-Unit
Transit Devotee
Transit Devotee

Postby Frag » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:42 am

Check the torque restrictor for wear and movement,then look for somet hitting something it shouldn’t be when it’s shutting down,or rattling about,exhaust,air filter box etc....
Frag
Ford Technician

Postby DG-Unit » Mon Aug 24, 2020 8:12 pm

Checked the torque restrictor and it is mashed up. I can move the engine around easily.
2004 Transit SWB 85 T260
DG-Unit
Transit Devotee
Transit Devotee

Postby knobby1 » Mon Aug 24, 2020 8:35 pm

DG-Unit wrote:Checked the torque restrictor and it is mashed up. I can move the engine around easily.

There ya go..! :mrgreen:

Lord Knobrot
2008 2.4L RWD 170+PS 6-speed 350 LWB High Roof.