*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Feuerwehr imported from Norway

Transit Mk1 & 2 Forum. All Transits 1965 - 1986

Moderator: Luke

Feuerwehr imported from Norway

Postby skerr3 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 1:17 pm

Hello, Although I joined this Transit forum three years ago I've only now finally purchased a vehicle so this is my first proper post. I'm certainly not new to the old car scene as I was the spare secretary for the MK1 Cortina O.C. for 24 years(no I don't want another job before anyone asks!), I'm just new to MK1 Transits.
The van I've purchased is another ex-German fire wagon which had moved on to Lithuania and finally Norway which is where I purchased it from. It arrived at Immingham docks on Monday & I collected it yesterday, my Kuga did a sterling job in towing along with a hefty 18ft trailer too.
I'm afraid I immediately have questions that I need to ask. The tailgate handle was blanked with no lock barrel being fitted, I do have an A5 sized Ford parts book but it doesn't have enough detail. Could somebody tell me if the lock barrel is the same as fitted to door handles as I need to source one?
Second question, is there a source for replacement rubber seals for the side doors with sliding windows, mine are shot and have been bodged to stop them leaking?

I'm planning on converting immediately to right hand drive and install a MK5 Transit IFS which will also give me disc brakes, I've already sourced a 6-stud axle. I will also be converting from manual to auto, not sure yet what route I will be taking. I would be happy short term to simply fit an auto box onto the V4 if I could find a complete gearbox, torque converter & flex plate? I have got a Cosworth BOB in the garage which was the original intention but I do quite like the flat panel look so may be looking at alternative ideas.
Steve
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
skerr3
Transit Addict