*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

2001 Mk6 2.4 engine swap

Transit Mk6 & Mk7 Forum. All Transits 2000 - 2013

2001 Mk6 2.4 engine swap

Postby pakunalle » Sun Nov 27, 2022 6:53 am

Hello everyone,

First off, English is not my first language so sorry if there are some issues in my wording. Also, I work at a Ford dealership with parts but I'm not very experienced with the field yet, but do have access to all the workshop manuals.

I got a 2001 Mk6 2.4 120hp(with turbo, EGR, no AC) engine code D4FA. Last summer started hearing some slight ticking noise from the engine which slowly turned into a knock. Checked injectors, hydraulic tappets, injection pump solenoid resistance, all good. Took out oil pan and found scraps of bearings. Took apart the front end of the car (I have no lift) and pulled out the engine and the transmission, and found out that 3rd cylinder piston's upper bearing is done.

I bought an identical engine off a donor van to replace my engine with. I swapped starter, inlet manifold, EGR, valve cover and some water pipes from the original engine because they were in much better condition and because my original EGR was plugged and I want to keep it that way. Some wires were cut from the donor engine so I had to solder new connections to the wires that go to crankshaft position sensor, and the two wires that go to transmission from the same loom (speed and reverse sensors I think?).