*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

'Engine Service Now' Help appreciated

The all new 2013 Transit Mk8 Forum. Transits 2013+

'Engine Service Now' Help appreciated

Postby Billysven » Fri Sep 17, 2021 10:07 am

Hi All,

I recently bought a 2015 2.2 RWD H3L3 43k on clock

Drives well and in good condition

This Problem only occurs after apprx 30-40 miles of continuous driving at 60-70mph

Engine service now light, ABS/Traction light and eventually limp mode and no hill start assist. Turn off and back on and problem gone,

I had diagnostic and found that glow plug fault. These were renewed but problem persists.

Diagnostic again = UO401-68 Invalid data received from ECM / PCM

Local garage perplexed. Now at Fords who say it might be turbo and to put some turbo cleaner in and run it !? I'm no expert but surely something its something more definitive.

Anyway I told them to put the cleaner in and run it if that's what they think!

Does anyone here have an opinion or thoughts where to start. As stated it only happens after a long uninterrupted run. Its fine around town etc

Thank you in advance

Bill
Billysven

Re: 'Engine Service Now' Help appreciated

Postby Sam123 » Fri Sep 17, 2021 10:29 am

It's quite a reliable engine, so I wouldn't be overly worried.

The engine service now/ABS warning is just a catch-all fault response - the name doesn't mean anything.

It'll be worth getting it on some proper diagnostics rather than just a generic code reader. If I was you, I'd buy an ELM327 interface off ebay for about £20 and then download the Forscan software (free). It's really functional and fairly intuitive and easy to use. It'll probably be fine to drive in the meantime.