*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Suspension question

The all new 2013 Transit Custom Forum. Transits and Tourneos 2013+

Suspension question

Postby 2020FMX » Mon May 03, 2021 3:57 pm

Not long ago I got a Bilstein suspension lowering kit fitted to my custom sport. It looks much nicer. But, the ride is annoying. I’ve had VW T5’s with lowered suspension and even though the ride was hard, it didn’t make you feel seasick.
But the transit does. I’m not a suspension expert by any stretch of the imagination, want your boiler fixed? I’m your man, but springs and dampers.... no.
Now, the front is ok, hard but ok. It’s the rear that causes the issue. The thing bounces like mad over the smallest of bump in the road.
I have noticed that the seats in the custom sport are soft and comfortable which is nice, but is it these that exaggerate the bounce or is the rear springs and dampers to blame?
Any suggestions or views on this matter ??

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
2020FMX
Transit Addict
Transit Addict

Re: Suspension question

Postby Mike » Mon May 03, 2021 4:10 pm

If it's bouncing it'll be the dampers failing to control the springs. Are they adjustable?
Mike
Wind up merchant!

Postby 2020FMX » Mon May 03, 2021 4:19 pm

Mike wrote:If it's bouncing it'll be the dampers failing to control the springs. Are they adjustable?
I don’t know tbh like I say, I’m not an expert. The mechanic said he’d set them up, but I’m not sure.. here is a photo of said dampers...

2020FMX
Transit Addict
Transit Addict

Postby Mike » Mon May 03, 2021 5:15 pm

I’d be interested to ask him how he ‘set them up’ they don’t look adjustable to me? If they’re not adjustable then they will only work with one particular spring rate. Without knowing if they make a different damper for 270,290,310,330 it’s difficult to know what yours are built for.
Mike
Wind up merchant!

Postby 2020FMX » Mon May 03, 2021 5:19 pm